NY Rising

New York Rising

Community Reconstruction Program

(Formerly known as Community Reconstruction Zones)

Massapequa, Village of Massapequa Park, and East Massapequa

Massapequa, Village of Massapequa Park, and East Massapequa



Bill Van Wagner, Co-Chair

Maureen Fitzgerald, Co-Chair

John Kraft

Walter Noonan

Bill Colfer

Mike Hanna

Peter Pomeranz

Richard Scher

Diana McDonough

John Rywelski

Patricia Orzano

Janine Rose

Pete Aiello

Salvator Balesteri


Town of Oyster Bay Representative, Colin Bell, Commissioner of the Department of Intergovernmental Affairs, non-voting Member

Village of Massapequa Park Representative, Peggy Caltabiano, Village Administrator/Clerk, non-voting member

Final Plans

The completion of a NY Rising Community Reconstruction Plan is an important step toward rebuilding a more resilient community. Designed and driven by local communities, the plans account for specific needs, opportunities and strategies of cities, towns and villages throughout the State. Each locality is eligible for between $3 million and $25 million of Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funding, as it implements new and innovative strategies that aim to establish a stronger and better future.