Skip to main content
Governor’s office of storm recovery (GOSR)

Capital Region, North Country and Mohawk Valley

The Capital/ North Country Region/ Mohawk Valley Region has nine NY Rising communities distributed over seven counties – Essex, Montgomery, Schenectady, Saratoga, Schoharie, Herkimer, and Oneida.1 The region’s communities are located along rivers and waterways that experienced significant flooding during Hurricane Irene and Tropical Storm Lee, such as the Au Sable and Mohawk Rivers and the Schoharie Creek. As of April 2018, there are 41 NY Rising projects in various stages of implementation within the Capital/ North Country Region/ Mohawk Valley Region. Examples of the types of projects in implementation include construction, relocation and improvements of firehouses, ambulance buildings, and emergency shelters, enlargement of culverts to reduce flooding at critical transportation routes, and improvements to drinking water, wastewater, and stormwater systems.

Click on the links below to read more about projects in this region!

1. Herikmer, Oneida, and Montgomery Counties were part of the NY Rising Community Reconstruction (NYRCR) planning process but no projects from the counties’ NYRCR plans will be implemented with CDBG-DR funding.