Skip to main content

Broome County Communities

(Includes the City of Binghamton, Town of Conklin, Village of Endicott, Village of Johnson City, Town of Union, and Town of Vestal)


The completion of a NY Rising Community Reconstruction Plan is an important step toward rebuilding a more resilient community. Designed and driven by local communities, the plans account for specific needs, opportunities and strategies of cities, towns and villages throughout the State. Each locality is eligible for between $3 million and $25 million of Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funding, as it implements new and innovative strategies that aim to establish a stronger and better future. NOTE: The NY Rising Community Reconstruction plans referenced on these pages are comprehensive planning documents created by and for the affected communities. For this reason, the documents describe projects that were discussed; however, not all of these were selected by the community as priorities to be funded.

Committee Members

  • Gail Domin

    Co-Chair.  Gail is a planning Consultant and Development Director, Goodwill Theatre Inc. She is a retired Chief Planner, Broome County and resident of Town of Conklin (home sustained major damage in flood of 2006). 

  • Tim Grippen

    Co-Chair. Tim recently retired as Regional Administrator of NYS DOL and served as one of the Governor’s representatives after Tropical Storm Lee and Hurricane Irene.  He is a former County Executive, former Executive Director of Opportunities for Broome, and former HUD Fellow at U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.   He is a resident of the City of Binghamton.

  • Vince Pasquale

    Co-Chair.  Vince will retire at the end of the current academic year from his position as Assistant Dean of the School of Management at Binghamton University.  He served 13 terms in the Broome County Legislature and served as either majority or minority leader for all but two of those terms.  He is a resident of the Town of Union.

  • Paul Nelson
  • Bob Pass
  • Tarik Abdelazim
  • John Schaffer
  • Patrick Brennan
  • Rev. Dr. Joe Sellepack
  • Gary Campo
  • Rose Sotak
  • Robert Bennett
  • Dave Tanenhaus
  • Greg Deemie
  • Tom Delamarter
  • James Finch
  • Philip Grayson
  • Alan Hertel
  • Dave Hubeny
  • Charles McElwee
  • Elaine Miller
  • Erik Miller
  • Karry Mullins