Skip to main content

Staten Island

(Includes the neighborhoods of Annadale, Arrochar, Eltingville, Great Kills, Huguenot, Midland Beach, New Dorp Beach, Oakwood, Oakwood Beach, Ocean Breeze, Prince's Bay, South Beach, and Tottenville)


The completion of a NY Rising Community Reconstruction Plan is an important step toward rebuilding a more resilient community. Designed and driven by local communities, the plans account for specific needs, opportunities and strategies of cities, towns and villages throughout the State. Each locality is eligible for between $3 million and $25 million of Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funding, as it implements new and innovative strategies that aim to establish a stronger and better future. NOTE: The NY Rising Community Reconstruction plans referenced on these pages are comprehensive planning documents created by and for the affected communities. For this reason, the documents describe projects that were discussed; however, not all of these were selected by the community as priorities to be funded.

Committee Members

  • Dr. William Fritz

    Interim President of the College of Staten Island (CUNY)

  • Steven Grillo

    Director of Projects at Staten Island Economic Development Corporation

  • David Sorkin

    Co-Chair. David Sorkin, Executive Director of the Jewish Community Center of Staten Island, brings an array of knowledge and expertise to the Staten Island Committee.  Mr. Sorkin is chair of the JCC Connect-to-Recovery Coalition and the Staten Island Response to Disaster Coalition, a program of the Staten Island Not-for-Profit Association which is identifying needs of non-profit organizations in the aftermath of the Superstorm Sandy and determining how the sector will respond to similar unforeseen needs in the future. Mr. Sorkin is a member of the Staten Island Long-Term Recovery Organization (LTRO).

  • Farid Kader

    Founder of a grassroots relief organization named “Sandy Yellow Team”

  • Vincent Lenza

    Co-Chair. Vincent Lenza, Executive Director of the Staten Island Not-for-Profit Association (SINFP), represents over 150 not-for-profit organizations on Staten Island.  As the lead staff member behind the creation of the Staten Island Response to Disaster Coalition, Mr. Lenza brought together twenty civic and government agencies to improve the quality of response to individuals in the event of community crises. Mr. Lenza is a member of the Staten Island Long-Term Recovery Organization (LTRO).

  • Dana Magee

    Chair of Community Board 2 and serves as the executive director and CEO of Community Resources

  • Yasmin Ammirato

    President of the Midland Beach Civic Association

  • John Malizia

    Vice President of the Fisherman’s Conservation Association and the Marine Fisheries Director for the Staten Island Tuna Club

  • Linda Baran

    President and CEO of the Staten Island Chamber of Commerce

  • Janine Materna

    President of the Pleasant Plains, Prince’s Bay, Richmond Valley Civic Association

  • Thomas Barlotta

    Committee Member, Vice Chair of Community Board 3

  • Joseph McAllister

    President of the South Beach Civic Association

  • Timothy Boyland

    Registered architect in private practice and past director of the AIA New York State

  • Thomas McDonough

    Director of Rebuild and Client Services at the Stephen Siller Tunnel to Towers Foundation (Siller Foundation)

  • Ralph Branca

    President and CEO of Victory State Bank

  • Gonzalo Mercado

    Executive Director of El Centro del Inmigrante and a coordinator of the Staten Island Immigrant Council

  • David Businelli

    Committee Member, Registered architect and owner of an architectural design firm on Staten Island

  • Frank Moszczynski

     Vice President of the Ocean Breeze Civic Association

  • Ronald M. Cerrachio Esq

    Chief Clerk for the Hon. Robert J. Gigante

  • James Pistilli

    Member of the Tottenville Civic Association

  • Bobby Digi

    Founder and Executive Director of Island Voice Inc.

  • Nicole Romano-Levine

    Founding President of the New Dorp Beach Civic Association and a teacher at New Dorp High School

  • Dr. Victor Dolan

    Member of Community Board 2 and resident of the East Shore

  • Debi Vadola

    Vice President of the Midland Beach Civic Association

  • Betsy Dubovsky

    Executive Director at The Staten Island Foundation

  • Dee Vandenburg

    President of Staten Island Taxpayers' Association, Inc.

  • Bobby Fisher

    Retired NYC Police Detective and head of the Midland Beach Merchants Association

  • Jack Vokral

    Member of Community Board 2 and President of the National Lighthouse Museum

  • Arkadiy Fridman

    President of the Staten Island Community Center